SIDMA College UNITAR Sabah Kadazandusun Language Club 2nd AGM Print
Thursday, 28 September 2017 10:45

In line with the organisation’s constitutional requirement, SIDMA College UNITAR Sabah Kadazandusun Language Club (Kelab Bahasa Kadazandusun SIDMA College) held its second Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 20th September 2017, at SIDMA Board Room. The establishment of the organisation has been approved by the Registrar of Society (Pendaftar Pertubuhan Malaysia) on 19 November 2014. The functions of the AGM is mainly for the committee to present to their members detailed report of the various activities held throughout the previous year, the financial status, as well as to allow time for the 30 active club members to share and contribute to the growth of the Club; and more importantly, to enable members to elect new office bearers for the coming year.

Mr David Tiongin Lumbok, J.P., Chairman of 2016-2017 Committee in his welcoming address thanked Dr Morni Hj Kambrie (Chairman and Founder of SIDMA College) as the initiator and Patron for the club; Madam Azizah Khalid Merican (CEO and advisor) and all the committee members for their time as well their  undivided support and commitment towards the organisation. Mr David in his speech thanked Dr Morni which has provided most of the necessary funding as part of his Corporate Social Responsibilities (CSR) to the successful organisation and implementation of all the club activities.

Dr Morni during his official address, shared his concern regarding the seemingly declining of the pureness of Kadazandusun language, and stressed that since the establishment of SIDMA College Sabah in 2002, he harboured various initiatives to complement and supplement relevant interventional activities that can assist in maintaining and popularised the language. With formation of the Kadazandusun Club, Dr Morni mooted various ideas such as the Kadazandusun Language Storytelling Competition for primary school children, the publication of “Inspirasi Anak-Anak Sabah” book, Sabah’s first ever Express Kadazan Language Public Speaking and Conversational Courses as some of his initiatives to create, enhance as well as to cascade positive attitude towards the language, particularly among SIDMA College UNITAR Sabah students as well as among the language speakers.

Both Dr Morni and Madam Azizah Khalid Merican through the AGM hoped the club can play a more significant role in the integration of SDMA students from various cultural backgrounds to understand each other’s culture better particularly in equipping them with Kadazandusun language ability and communication skills. The Club can for example, conduct basic Kadazandusun Language to SIDMA and UNITAR Diploma and Bachelor students from the non-Kadazandusun speakers (where a number of them will be teaching pre-schoolers in rural setting) with simple Kadazandusun language to enable them to communicate with these kids and their parents in the Kadazandusun language therefore eliminating the language barriers, they added.

Dr Morni thanked Mr David and the 2016-1017 committee members for their job well done, and he hoped that the new office bearers will continue the initiatives and efforts put in by this committee to transfer and equipped the college students with the basic Kadazandusun language, cultural background and knowledge.

During the meeting, Ms Olivia Philip (Secretary) presented a detailed report of the 2016-2017 activities held; whereas Ms Sylla Severinus (Treasurer) shared the club financial expenses as well its current financial status. Both the reports were unanimously accepted and approved without much debate.

The meeting also nominated, voted and approved the following as SIDMA College UNITAR Sabah Kadazandusun Language Club 2017 - 2018 Central Committee Members:

1. Patron : Mr David Tiongin Lumbok JP

2. Advisor : Madam Azizah Khalid Merican.

3. President : Madam Salumah Nain

4. Vice President : Mr Bonaventure Wences

5. Secretary : Madam Rainie Anne Laipan

6. Assistance Secretary : Ms Melissa Marcus Molijol

7. Treasurer : Madam Sylla Severinus

8. Auditor : Ms Jaccielia Robinsin

The meeting also voted another 18 members as it working committee members. They are Madam Azlina Ngatimin, Madam Izah Muhilin, Mr Louis Jais, Madam Badrinah binti Suhaimin, Madam Daria Joseph, Mr. Dellson J. Joingin, Ms Nelsie C. Motunjau, Ms Olivia Philip, Mr Robert Eban, Madam Jennyca Singau, Madam Janet Jaquiline Jiokis, Ms Valerie Charles, Mr Joe Gary J.R. Martin, Mr L Ronny Lampok, Mr Rody Rodiley bin Tunai, Mr Sanan bin Tangau, Mr Kamal Adzi, and Mr Dean Cassidy. 

Madam Salumah took the opportunity to thank Dr Morni and all those present during the AGM for giving her the opportunity to lead the club. She also invited all the members to stay united and continue to work with her for the betterment of the language. She too congratulated all the other committee members elected into the 2017-2018 Committee.

The meeting ended with all those present being invited for short lunch break.

By Olivia Philip, Teo Eng Seng and Zain Azrai Bin Mohd Noor.

SIDMA College UNITAR Sabah,